Data Clean-up in Cortex

I was most confident about this bit of the MoCap process, because based on the data we acquired last year, it was relatively a quick and easy one. However I seem to have run into more issues with marker switches this year that were harder to spot, which slowed things down for me.

The first factor was that Cortex Suites were very high in demand. Perhaps I underestimated how time consuming it was going to be as I only booked the room for 2 hours. It turns out I needed more than that which led me to booking for another day with a longer session. Thankfully, I was able to spot the initially unnoticeable glitches in the data I thought was cleaned up before I called it a day.

The issue was that I focused more on closing the gaps in the data (usually caused by the marker switches) and assuming they were ‘fixed’ before actually checking whether the closure fit the rest of the motion. Sometimes the cubic joint / virtual joint tools leave jagged lines, causing the marker to fly off and thus disrupt the motion flow. And so what I did was I restarted the process and became much more careful (instead of closing the gaps with one click, I went through them frame by frame to ensure no jagged lines were created.)

Here is a video of the cleaned up data, without glitches. (The motion flows are noticeably smoother and curved, and I was good to go.)

Leave a comment